About Keio Medical Science Prize

News Objective Prize Prize Laureates Nomination Selection


2019 Commemorative Lectures
Hans C. Clevers, M.D., Ph.D.

Tadamitsu Kishimoto, M.D., Ph.D.
Interview with the 24th Keio Medical Science Prize winners
Hans C. Clevers, M.D., Ph.D.

Tadamitsu Kishimoto, M.D., Ph.D.
The call for the 25th nominations has closed.
Thank you for the large number of excellent nominations we received!

> News List


The Keio Medical Science Prize gives recognition to the outstanding and creative achievements of researchers
in the fields of medicine and life sciences,
in particular those contributing to scientific developments in medicine.
It aims to promote worldwide advances in medicine and life sciences,
to encourage the expansion of researcher networks throughout the world, and to contribute to the well-being of humankind.


Laureates receive a certificate of merit, medal, and a monetary award.
The award ceremony and commemorative lectures are held at Keio University.

Prize Laureates

2019 Prize Laureates

Prof. Seiji Ogawa

Hans C. Clevers, M.D., Ph.D.

Reasons for Selection:
Wnt signaling in Stem Cells and Organogenesis


Tadamitsu Kishimoto, M.D., Ph.D.

Reasons for Selection:
IL-6: From Molecule to Medicine

Past Prize Laureates


Please submit nomination materials online through the Nomination Form.
Nomination Form is opened during end of January to early March.
see detail


The Keio Medical Science Prize Selection Committee, consisting of Japanese academics and researchers,
is charged with reviewing candidates' research activities and making a recommendation to the Board of Directors.


Nominees must be researchers in medicine or life sciences closely related to medicine,
and preferably currently active in their field of research.
The Keio Medical Science Prize is an international award.

Selection Process

  1. An invitation is sent out to academics and researchers all over the world each year,
    inviting them to nominate a candidate for the Prize.
  2. The Committee reviews the nominations and submits a recommendation to the Board.
  3. The Board makes the final decision and formally announces the laureate(s).

Yearly Schedule

(Subject to Change)