Mar. 9, 2016


The Call for Nominations has closed.

Thank you for the high number of excellent nominations we received!  

Nov. 25, 2015

The Keio Medical Science Prize 2015

 - Award Ceremony and Commemorative Lectures held on November 25, 2015

Sep. 14, 2015

Announcements of the 20th Keio Medical Science Prize

 - Press Release
 - Keio Medical Science Prize Laureate 2015  

The Keio Medical Science Prize

2015 Prize Laureates

  Prof. Jeffrey I. Gordon

     Prof. Yoshinori Ohsumi


The Keio Medical Science Prize gives recognition to the outstanding and creative achievements of researchers in the fields of medicine and life sciences, in particular those contributing to scientific developments in medicine. It aims to promote worldwide advances in medicine and life sciences, to encourage the expansion of researcher networks throughout the world, and to contribute to the well-being of humankind.

Laureates receive a certificate of merit, medal, and a monetary award. The award ceremony and commemorative lectures are held at Keio University.



Nomination and Selection

The Keio Medical Science Prize Selection Committee, consisting of Japanese academics and researchers, is charged with reviewing candidates' research activities and making a recommendation to the Board of Directors.


Nominees must be researchers in medicine or life sciences closely related to medicine, and preferably currently active in their field of research. The Keio Medical Science Prize is an international award.


Selection Process
1. An invitation is sent out to academics and researchers all over the world each 

    year, inviting them to nominate a candidate for the Prize.
2. The Committee reviews the nominations and submits a recommendation to the

3. The Board makes the final decision and formally announces the laureate(s).

Yearly Schedule   (Subject to Change)


Copyright (c), Keio University. All rights reserved.